Dianne (Williams) Showalter

Hey, Ya’ll,

I am Dianne Williams Showalter. I live in Buford, Georgia with my husband, George. I married the love of my life and best friend 48 years ago. I have lived most of my adult life in the south. In our family’s early years we lived in the Kansas City area, St. Paul, Minnesota, Arlington, Texas and Englewood, Colorado. However we finally planted our roots within the Atlanta area and have now called Georgia our home for almost 33 years.

George and I have expanded our family to now consist of two daughters, two son-in-laws, two granddaughters and three grand dogs. Our oldest daughter, Sheila is 46 and also lives in the Atlanta area with her husband Eric and their two daughters. Sheila is a high risk, commercial lines insurance underwriter. McKenzie, her oldest is 19 and is getting ready to begin her sophomore year of college. Sarah has just turned 12 and will be a seventh grader in middle school this year. Our other daughter, Stephanie is 42 and lives in San Jose, California with her husband Sean. Stephanie works for Google in their home headquarters.

My most important job is being a mom. However, over the years I have worked mostly in the insurance industry. Later on in life I got a bonus in mothering. I had Grandma Day Care for our two granddaughters from the time they were babies until about five years ago. So now I am fully retired but have a wonderful, special bond with my two grands.

I enjoy my leisure time with volunteering and various hobbies. I volunteer at an elementary school as well as I teach Sunday School for six to eight year olds. I also enjoy gardening, reading and travel. Since George retired we have enjoyed traveling abroad and in the USA. It is always important to come “home” to Colorado at least once a year. Colorado and Johnstown hold a very special place in my heart. I am thankful for the foundation I received growing up in the area and graduating with the first class of Roosevelt High School.